In 1904, one of the oldest boys camps in America was established on Washington Lake, in Washington, Maine. This camp was named Medomak Camp. Across the lake, Wetona Girls Camp was established in the early 1920′s on a parcel of land that was previously a private farm.
In 1946, Medomak camp purchased Wetona Girls Camp. After combining the two, it was decided that a new name was in order. A twist of the Medomak name coupled with the lovely Meadowlark bird, seen around the lake, yielded what is now known as Camp Med-O-Lark.
The camp was continuously occupied until 1965 when, after a period of slow decline, it closed. Less than two years later, however, it re-opened. The “new” Med-O-Lark that was established in 1967 is the Med-O-Lark that exists today.
Different than all other camps of that era, Med-O-Lark was created as a wonderful alternative to the traditional camps of those times. It was designed as a co-ed, non-sectarian, non-competitive camp that emphasized creative pursuits as the foundation of a campers daily experience. The Med-O-Lark community was meant to be one that was open to all. It was to be a special place emphasizing individual growth and community spirit. As a result of this pioneering approach to camping, Med-O-Lark became an instant success.
Today, Med-O-Lark stays true to its roots, continuing its long tradition of nurturing values in a safe, fun environment. Med-O-Lark’s unique mission is as relevant today as it was 40 years ago.